Ayurveda is gaining prominence the world over as an alternative system of medicine. It is the indigenous medical system of India and is said to be more than 3000 years old. It is considered to be pre-scientific by many people. But in fact, it is a complete health care system.

The word Ayurveda means- the science of life. (ayusha: palanam vedam)  More than a system of medicine, it is the science of life- meaning a life style which enables an individual to lead a long, healthy and productive life. It stress on the prevention of diseases and the preservation of health.

Goals of Ayurveda

Hithahitham sukham dukham ……

It is important to preserve life and promote health to obtain longevity to achieve life’s goals before death intervenes. Ayurveda thus entertains a holistic view of the human personality and does not look at life as a mere combination of structures and functions. Preserve life, promote health, earn longevity and welcome timely death- that is the message of Ayurveda in a nutshell.

Indian Ayurvedic dietary supplement called Chyawanprash / chyavanaprasha  is a cooked mixture of sugar, honey, ghee, Indian Gooseberry (amla), jam, sesame oil, berries, herbs and various spices

Working Principles of Ayurveda


According to Ayurveda, treatment is performed by the cooperation of the Physician, drug, therapist and the patient. These constitute the four limbs of Ayurvedic treatment.

1.The Physician examines the patient, diagnoses the disease and decides the treatment.

2.The medicines (drugs) serve as the tool in the treatment process.

3.The therapist assists the physician and performs the therapies.

4.The patient is the basis of the treatment and he has to cooperate with the physician and the therapist.

In addition , Ayurveda offers one of the world’s most comprehensive cleansing protocols, known as Panchakarma. This ancient practice uses five primary therapies to release and eliminates accumulated toxins from deep within tissues thus it offers renewed access to our natural intelligence. And this ancient medicine offers the promise of a more harmonious future for the people and planet .

Branches of Ayurveda

Ayurveda has eight main branches which are:

  1. Kayachikitsa – general medicine
  2. Bala chikitsa – pediatrics
  3. Bhuta vidya – Psychiatry
  4. Salakya thantra – ENT and ophthalmology
  5. Salya thantra – surgery
  6. Agada thantra – toxicology
  7. Rasayana thantra – geriatrics
  8. Vajikarana thantra – science of aphrodisiacs


We at Aravinda Ayurveda promotes Preventive Health and treatments for various illness and following specialities in OP level –

  • Prenatal care & Postnatal care
  • Diabetic care and wound management
  • Varicose ulcers and its management
  • Obesity management
  • Lifestyle disorder